My Tinfinite Playlist for the Week

I am currently following the 365 Days of Writing Prompts from the editors of WordPress.com. I think it’s not too late to start even if it’s already March.

I plan to simply skim through the previous prompts and include the ones that interested me. Anyway, the purpose of prompts is to help you fire up that old keyboard whenever you’re stuck with writer’s block.

I’d start off by sharing with you a playlist of the five songs that best represent my week. This should’ve been my post yesterday but I didn’t have the time. Still, I really love making lists and I wanted to include one here at least once a week, so please bear with me on this. I’ll try not to make it lame, I promise! Haha!

1. Let it Go by Idina Menzel from Disney’s Frozen
I think it’s safe to say that not a week has gone by when I haven’t hummed, if not sung this in its entirety. I just love this song! Whenever I listen to it or sing it, I feel empowered. I think the reason why many people, especially young teenage girls (me included), love it is because they can relate to it.

 

Keep calm and let it go. Source: http://www.itsartmag.com

Sometimes, we need to feel alone, unmasked and helpless to discover our own strengths. Only when we have reached the lowest point in our lives can we truly soar. And most of us will realize that the greatest barrier that’s keeping us from achieving greatness is ourselves. When we have come to terms with who we are, only then can we become the best that we can be.

“It’s time to see what I can do. To test the limits and break through..”

2. Here, There and Everywhere by the Beatles
I know that this song isn’t supposed to be sad but I get that melancholic feeling whenever I listen to it. Also, the gentle wooing of the Fab 4 has been proven to lull certain people to sleep. That’s why this song was included for this week. Haha.

Source: http://www.thecultureclub.net

Kidding aside, I like how this song was written. It starts with a couple of lines followed by Here, then There into the next stanza. And the Everywhere part is in the chorus. I think it sounds clever too. Kudos to Paul McCartney, if you ask me! I think it’s one of the best but underrated Beatles songs ever. (Author insert: I have in mind to put a list of my favorite Beatles songs in the future but that would need more dedication and time.)

I also loved it when this was played on steel drums in The One With Phoebe’s Wedding episode on Friends (season 10, episode 12). It totally captured the beauty of that moment and made me part with a few tears myself. It was that good. I mean, STEEL DRUMS people! It was snowing in the park and stuff.

Source: http://thetvmouse.wordpress.com

“I want her everywhere. And if she’s beside me I know I need never care. But to love her is to need her everywhere..” 

3. Auld Lang Syne
Okay, so this seems totally random but let me explain first. This song was played during our seminar last Saturday as accompaniment to our modified Tai Chi energizer. Weirdly enough, I enjoyed “dancing” to it. Haha. (Plus, it was the best seminar that I’ve attended so far.)

Fun fact: According to Wikipedia, Auld Lang Syne is a Scots poem written by Robert Burns and is set to the tune of a traditional folk song. Its most popular and traditional use is during the start of the New Year at the stroke of midnight. It is also sung at funerals, graduations and as a farewell or ending to other occasions.

Source: http://www.the-leith-gallery.co.uk

Another fun fact: Due to my teenage addiction for reading Jude Deveraux, Judith McNaught and Julie Garwood novels, I have developed an interest in Scotland and I dream of visiting it someday.

“We too have run around the slopes. And picked the daisies fine. We’ve londoned many weary foot. Since auld lang syne..”

Doesn’t that just bring you a sense of nostalgia for the years gone by?

4. Titanium by David Guetta (feat. Sia)
I just heard this in the office today and thought to include it in my list.

I first discovered this song when I was watching Pitch Perfect. Remember Anna Kendrick’s shower scene with Brittany Snow? (Try rephrasing that without the sexual connotations.)  I thought it was good. It’s a catchy pop song with a kick of house music to it and the lyrics are empowering.

Titanium-David-Guetta

“You shout it out but I can’t hear a word you say. I’m talking loud not saying much. I’m criticized but all your bullets ricochet. Shoot me down, but I get up.”

I think it’s safe to say that at least once in our lives, we’ve been at the receiving end of “bullets” from other people. We get shot down with words, maliciously teased at, and everything we do and say constantly monitored for the slightest mistake.

We cannot, nor will we ever please every one. Still, it is only up to us if we allow it to get the best of us. A great man (Hi Sir RJ!) once reminded me that whatever happens to us is just 10% of the story. The greater part, the 90%, depends on how we react to situations.

I am not saying that critics should be avoided at all costs. I think we should filter in the things that are valid and use them to improve ourselves. But for those that are meant to be truly malicious, well, let’s just say that they’re just 10% of the equation.

Also, the same great man reminded me that they want to pull you down because they’re way below you. But the key is not to slam the door in their faces. Rather, we should help lift them up. I know that’s hard to do but it’s still worth thinking about the next time we encounter something like this.

5. Secret by The Pierces
I think most of you know this song as the opening theme for Pretty Little Liars. That is also why I included it in this list. I’ve watched all four seasons of PLL until now. Actually, I’ve watched the two most recent episodes this week and I must say things are starting to heat up and unravel. I wonder what the last couple episodes will reveal to us. Theories anyone?

But aside from the PLL factor, I like the odd, almost eerie quality of the song. The actual music video made my mind spin, literally. So if you happen to watch the video, don’t say I didn’t warn you.

“Got a secret, can you keep it? Swear this one you’ll save. Better lock it in your pocket, taking this one to the grave..” 
Source: http://www.prettylittlemsonik.tumblr.com

Sorry. I couldn’t help it.

And that concludes my playlist. What about you? If you had a soundtrack for your week or even your life, what songs would it include? Thanks for reading!

4 thoughts on “My Tinfinite Playlist for the Week

  1. I love Let It Go, and have been listening to the Frozen soundtrack a lot since I watched the film. My favourite line is, ‘ That perfect girl is gone,’ which really fits what I’m going through at the moment.

    1. Thank you for sharing that. I also love that line. I think people always expect us to be perfect and when we fail those expectations, we’d think we’re also failure as human beings. But we’re not perfect. We just have to love who we are and use our strengths and weaknesses so we can be better. The song has really helped me through some tough times. Whenever I feel sad and alone, I just listen to it and feel myself raising my chin up once again.

      I hope that whatever you’re going through at the moment, you’d be able to overcome eventually. I know you’ll be stronger when that time comes. I’m glad you visited here. If you need to talk, don’t hesitate! 🙂

      1. Thanks so much for your kind reply 🙂 music really can make us feel so much better sometimes, can’t it? I think I will be able to get through this, but right now it’s feeling like it’s going to be a long, hard slog, and that’s a bit overwhelming. But you know. One day at a time, right? Thanks for taking the time to “talk”!

Hearing from you will surely brighten up my day!

