Quote Me | Not Another JLaw Post

Almost everyone I know loves Jennifer Lawrence. Well, at least those who matter to me anyway. My best friends love her, even my two siblings adore her. Once on a completely random moment we found out that all three of us have been guilty of looking up JLaw interviews on Youtube. Haha! I didn’t know how that came up but I think you get the gist.

As much as I would like to wax lyrical about the awesome sauce that is Jennifer, this is not why this post was created. Sorry! (But maybe I could do one next time if the mood suits me.)

True to my almost 365 Days of Writing vow, I will be sharing to you my favorite quote from the movie Silver Linings Playbook. Technically, SLP isn’t my favorite movie but I think it belongs to my top twenty-ish hypothetically. (Hypothetically because it’s hard for me to pick favorites! I only remember whatever’s relevant to me at the time.)

One of my favorite scenes was when Tiffany, played by JLaw, confronts Bradley Cooper’s character Pat. To quote her:
There will always be a part of me that is dirty and sloppy, but I like that, just like all the other parts of myself. I can forgive. Can you say the same for yourself, f***er? Can you forgive? Are you capable of that?

And as a bonus, here it is in gif:

She won the Oscar’s Best Actress award for this. Hurrah!

I had goosebumps while watching that. If you haven’t watched it yet, let me give you a brief background to Tiffany’s character. According to Jennifer, “She’s like, ‘I’m messed up, I’m not like everybody else, I’ve got issues. Take it or leave it because I like myself.‘”

Even if we’re not suffering from neurotic tendencies or more serious psychological problems, I think that everyone has some issues regarding themselves.

I also think I’m not like everybody else, not in a special snowflake kind of way but in a I-know-I’m-just-different kind of way. I like to march to my own tune most of the time and I don’t care. And you know what? That’s okay.

But in some circumstances, we are also forced to conform and just follow along the band. That is still okay, as long as you don’t lose sight of who you are as an individual at the end of the day.

What I’m trying to say is everyone has issues. Everybody has problems with an aspect of themselves. Still, let’s learn from Tiffany and try to accept, if not totally love every nuance of our individuality. That’s what makes us who we are.

We should also recognize that every person has his or her own unique battles to face everyday. I say they’re unique battles because even if we’ve experienced similar problems, they will never be truly identical from one person to another. So I think we should also learn to respect, if not understand, these individuals for being where they are right now.

So I’ll end this post with some food for thought. In the words of Pat, “People like Tiffany, or Danny, or me, maybe we know something that you guys don’t know, okay? Did you ever think about that?

5 thoughts on “Quote Me | Not Another JLaw Post

  1. Weirdness is definitely the way ahead 🙂 I love your blog. And thanks so much (belatedly, I apologise) for stopping by my site and giving me a like. Greatly appreciated 🙂

Hearing from you will surely brighten up my day!

