Review: That’s Heart (Limited Edition) Eyeshadow and Blush Palette

Hi friends! How has your weekend been? I know I promised that I’d have this up immediately after my Pop Art brushes review but I haven’t found the time. Something came up in our family and well, ohana comes first right? I think I might dedicate a post about that here. What do you think?

I was kind of nervous to do a palette review because I don’t consider myself an expert in makeup just yet. I’m just starting out but I find that beauty blogging is one hobby that I could finally commit myself too. It’s so much fun trying out different products and finding out what works best for me. Plus, I feel justified whenever I share something that could really help others in their quest for beauty. Haha.

Source: BH Cosmetics site
Source: BH Cosmetics site

Description:
“Famed Beauty Guru, ThatsHeart, hand-picked these sweet and romantic shades to create this limited edition That’s Heart eyeshadow and blush palette. Feminine and fun, the collection includes 8 eyeshadows a blush, bronzer & highligher, in shades that range from soft pops of color to neutrals.”

heart
ThatsHeart, one of my new favorite beauty gurus.

Okay, I am almost embarrassed to admit this but I’ve never heart about ThatsHeart before I saw this palette. I’m so sorry Ms. Heart! But I immediately looked her up on Youtube and I regretted not discovering her immediately! I love that she’s not afraid to show her personality and a bit of her life in her videos.

I follow ThatsHeart now and I could see that her palette is quite an accurate reflection of who she is as a beauty guru and a person. I think it’s wonderful that she was able to come up with her own palette and stay true to who she is. I love her! I would love to have tea with her and talk to her about her dog. Haha. I’ve heard that she’s also Filipina? Hmm.

Packaging:
Hands down, what totally drew me in was the packaging. I did not plan on buying this palette but I knew from the moment I saw it that I wanted and needed it. It was a whim purchase brought about by love at first sight! Haha. I mean, it has everything that I love from the pink stripes up to the lace design and all that jazz.


The palette comes in this cardboard packaging with magnetic closure. It’s light and I think it would be handy for travelling. I just feel that it’s almost too fragile though. I am afraid to get it wet or drop it because I think it would be ruined. And that would make me very sad. 😦

I think I just need to take better care of it. That’s still fine since it’s also part of loving something, right? Because I love it. It really shows how girly I could be, given the opportunity. Haha.

Ingredients:

Eyeshadow: Talc, Mica, Mineral Oil, Kaolin, Titanium Dioxide, Magnesium Stearate, Isopropyl Palmitate, Lanolin, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, BHT. May contain (+/-) Mica, Titanium Dioxide (CI77891), Iron Oxides (CI77491, CI77492, CI77499), Ultramarine Blue (CI77007), Manganese Violet (CI77742), Ferric Ammonium Ferrocyanide (CI77510), Chromium Oxide Green (CI77288), Chrome Hydroxide Green (CI77289), FD&C Red No.40 Al Lake (CI16035), FD&C Yellow No.5 Al Lake (CI19140:1), FD&C Blue No.1 Al Lake (CI42090:2). Net Wt.:0.19OZ/5.40g


Blush/Bronzer/ Highlighter: Talc, Mica, Mineral Oil, Titanium Dioxide, Magnesium Stearate, Isopropyl Palmitate, Lanolin, Methylparaben, Propylparaben. May Contain (+/-) Mica, Titanium Dioxide (CI77891), Iron Oxides (CI77491, CI77492, CI77499), FD&C Red No.40 Al Lake (CI16035), Ultramarine Blue (CI77007), D&C Red No.6 Ba Lake (CI15850:2), D&C Red No.7 Ca Lake (CI15850:1), D&C Red No.27 Al Lake (CI45410:2). Net Wt.: 0.24 OZ/7.00g

The ingredients are altogether a different story. However, most cosmetics do contain talc, mineral oil and parabens. This might be a deal breaker for some who opt for “healthier” choices or those who are sensitive to these. I am also planning to buy more mineral makeup and those without these chemicals. For now, I’ll just consider this palette as one of the privileged few that are exempt from the rule.

I do love that these were not tested on animals. Brownie points for that! It just goes to show how important it is to check the labels on cosmetics we buy especially if they’re “cruelty-free” or not. That is the more important deal breaker for me.

Swatches and Thoughts:
Now on to my favorite part. Was the actual content deserving of the cute packaging and all the hype? Hmmm. Let’s see.

Shadows
I took the liberty of adding numbers on the shadows for easy reference. I wish they had names for the colors but that’s just another luxury I could do without for the meantime. The bronzer and highlighter are found on the bottom left while the blush is the one on the bottom right.

920_3
Source: BH cosmetics site (I just added the numbers.)

I also took some swatches under different lighting.

As you can see, most of them are pretty much shimmers except for the dark purple (#5) and dark brown to almost black shadow (#8) which I both like. These are almost (but not quite) matte because I still found little flecks of shimmer on them both.

I do love shades #2, #6 and #7. Number 2 is a subtle gold shade while 6 is a beautiful rose gold. I also love a good teal shade and number 7 is quite pigmented. On the pictures it looks more aqua but when I applied it, it’s definitely teal.

Under different lighting.

I think that some of the shadows are not that pigmented as you may have noticed from the swatches. Although they’re definitely more noticeable on my skin tone. I am Filipina but still considered to be quite fair with warm undertones but the fluorescent lighting makes it hard for me to show you my actual color. Anyhow, this is probably the closest it can get.

I don’t know how the lighter shades will fare on lighter skin tones but I think a primer would definitely make a difference. I think they’re showing up decently on my skin tone so they’re pretty usable and okay for me.

And because they’re mostly shimmers, these will tend to have fallout.  But as I said, I think a primer and care when applying them would help.

With flash.

I think the shadows are decent with some definite keepers. I like the idea of them and how ThatsHeart must have chosen them to create her own palette which best reflects her personality. They’re very pretty with an obvious romantic twist. Nothing too crazy. I could see myself wearing the neutral shades for everyday or romantic looks and adding the darker shades when I want to add glamour especially at night. I also appreciate the soft pops of color especially the teal shade. I want to wear it this summer! Haha.

Bronzer and Highlighter

Bronzer on the left and highlighter on the right.

As much as pretty-looking the shadows are, I think that the best part of the palette are the bronzer and highlighter. The main reason why I bought this palette is definitely because of them. And I did not have any regrets when I swatched them and saw how beautiful they were.

The bronzer is quite pigmented so a little goes a long way. It looks natural when I applied some on my face. But what I do love the most is the highlight powder! It’s so beautiful. On the palette, it looks white. But upon swatching and using, it’s this gorgeous but very subtle white-gold. I was very happy with these two.

Blush
At first I was afraid of this blush because I thought it was too pink for my taste and won’t sit well with me. But it’s quite pretty and romantic when I applied it. The powder is very finely milled and I didn’t see fallouts. If you like a good pink blush but not too pink, I think you should give this a try.

Here are all the colors from the palette. Leftmost is the blush followed by the 8 shadows, and the contour and highlight powders.

In Summary

Pros:

  • Beautiful packaging and design
  • Wearable eyeshadow colors (Great for beginners. Nothing too crazy/surprising.)
  • Pretty and wearable blush
  • Great bronzer and highlighter
  • Comes with a mirror for easy touch ups
  • Easy to bring along
  • Cruelty-free

Cons:

  • Packaging looks fragile
  • Some shadows not that pigmented
  • Shadows are mostly shimmers and have some fallout

Best Uses: Everyday, Romantic looks

Bottomline:
I think I’ve used the words “romantic” and “pretty” many times in this review but that’s just what this palette is. All in all I love it not only for its beautiful packaging but for its content as well. The bronzer and highlighter are the shining gems of this palette along with the blush. I also appreciate the shadows (there were some faves) and I think I could work with them.

I’m glad I own this palette. I think it’s a great addition to my collection. It makes me feel like I have a bit of ThatsHeart with me (but not in a creepy way) whenever I wear it. Haha. What I mean is it shows personality especially when I don’t mind being girly and romantic and stuff.

Where to Buy:
You may buy this at the BH cosmetics site. I think it’s currently on sale with a 25% discount so I think you might want to check that out. This is limited edition too so I don’t know how long it will be on the market.

In the Philippines, I bought this @thevanityzone on Instagram but they’re pretty much sold out. You might want to contact them though because I think they’ll be restocking soon.

And that’s it. Yey for my first ever palette review! Haha. I am really sorry that this was quite a late post but I really wanted to give this time and thought before I hit that publish button. I wanted to post my look for this but I wasn’t quite satisfied with it yet and I don’t like my camera for that. I think I need more practice. Haha. But I do have a few reviews coming up so I hope you visit here often. 🙂

What the heck here it is anyway on my teaser from Instagram.
What the heck here it is anyway from my teaser from Instagram. Haha.
One thought on “Review: That’s Heart (Limited Edition) Eyeshadow and Blush Palette

  1. Heart is a Filipina! I even saw in one of her videos that she calls her older brother Kuya. Hehe. I own this palette as well and I feel that the eyeshadows are great and versatile. And, I just love its packaging. I don’t normally like pink which is weird for a beauty-obsessed girl like me, but I love the packaging of this palette! 🙂

Hearing from you will surely brighten up my day!

