My First Award

liebster-award-label

My blog was nominated for the Liebster Award! Yey!

I owe this one to Lydia from An Idiot’s Guide to Parenting. I don’t have plans of being a parent anytime soon but it was still oddly nice and fun to know about parenthood from her perspective. So if you want to know refreshing insights and honest-to-goodness experiences from the frightening world of parenthood (at least for me), please do visit her blog.

Speaking of being a parent, my baby of a blog is only three weeks old so being nominated for an award is really cool. I think I made a right decision on the revamp. I’ve left behind my sad and anonymous blog and “gave birth” to this new one.

Blogging about random stuff makes me happier plus I get to meet new friends, albeit virtually. I hope that as my blog “matures”, I’d be able to give a glimpse of my personality and who I am as an individual. I still have a long way to go but I don’t mind as long as I am enjoying the journey.

So in the spirit of the Liebster award, I am required to answer a few questions. I think this will be fun. I’ll try to answer all of them with honesty and at the same time, make it interesting. I don’t want to bore you. Haha.

1. Do you drink? What is your alcohol preference?
I only drink on occasion now and I do so in moderation. Gone were the olden days when I used to drink almost anything until I’m too slammed to care. But I’d prefer beer, wine or a few cocktails if I had to.

2. If you were a tree, what kind would you be and why?
I think I’d be a bamboo tree although technically, they’re not trees. I like how they still remain upright after storms because they bow down and dance to the great winds. We could learn a lot about resilience from bamboo plants. It’s also interesting but sad to note that when some bamboo species flower, most of them are in danger of dying. 😦 There is a metaphor for that hidden deep within the recesses of my mind but I can’t access it just yet. Hmmm.

3. What is your favorite thing to find – be it in a store, on the street, in the woods, etc
If I’m in the store, it’s definitely makeup or skin/hair care products. Haha. I don’t buy them immediately but I just like to look at them, read their labels, and maybe sample them. A definite contender would be books especially when I’m in my favorite bookstore. If I’m in the street, I like to look at food. Haha. Need I elaborate on that? Finally, if I’m in the woods, I like to find different flowers or plants that look interesting. I also like to look at moss. Is that weird?

4. Do you have houseplants? Why? Why not?
We don’t have plants inside the house. But we do have have a lot of plants in our yard. When I say, a lot, I mean A LOT. My mom enjoys gardening and has a green thumb. My dad loves to plant too but mostly seedlings. I used to have a a cute bonsai plant when I was in high school. It was recommended to me for stress-therapy but I forgot about it eventually. I’ve never really committed to an actual hobby, to tell you the truth. Does that tell you I have commitment issues? Though I think I’ve found my niche in blogging. I guess time will only tell.

5. What was the last major goal you met?
It would definitely be getting a job that I wanted and that would fulfill me. I am happy to share that I think I love my job. I am glad that I waited for it instead of jumping at other opportunities even if they paid more or sounded more glamorous. Before that, the last major goal that I had was to pass our Veterinary Medicine exam so I could be a licensed vet. I achieved that goal with the added bonus of ranking 4th place nationwide. Waddup! But seriously, I don’t believe in dreams anymore. I like to wake up to goals nowadays.

6. Do you consider yourself environmentally conscious? If so, what measures do you take?
I think I am environmentally conscious. I’m not participating in rallies and hunger-strikes or anything but I like to think that I do my part no matter how small. I’m proud to say that I don’t litter and I cannot abide seeing anyone do so. I usually put candy wraps, tissues, blotting paper, etc. in my pocket or bag if I don’t see a trashcan in the vicinity. So don’t be surprised about that when you happen to rifle through my bag. Haha. I also prefer to eat and use organic products given the option.

7. Why do you blog?
I blog mostly for myself. I am still in the process of rediscovering who I am as part of loving myself more. I write to express my thoughts and feelings, even the most mundane. I am thankful that I am someone who sees wonder and delight in even the simplest of things. This is also an avenue to practice more of my prose and poetry. I admit I’ve been pretty rusty and I lost some of the flair for words that I had when I was younger. But now, I think the experiences and a bit of worldliness I’ve acquired are valuable weapons in making my writing more meaningful.

8. What’s the most interesting place you have visited?
Japan, definitely. I’ve only been out of the country once and I was blessed that it was Japan. I am in love with its rich culture and history. I think we have a lot to learn from Japanese culture. I was also a big fan of anime when I was younger but now I watch studio Ghibli films and respect the genius of Hayao Miyazaki. With culture comes food and Japanese cuisine comes in third of my favorites after Filipino and Italian.

9. Given the opportunity, would you travel to space?
I remember when I was in grade school and my teacher asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up. I think I always said I wanted to be an astronaut. My interest grew in high school during our astronomy class. I’ll always be fascinated by space and what’s out there. But I think given the opportunity, I wouldn’t want to travel outside of Earth. Haha. Knowing myself, I’d probably drift off aimlessly while fixing something outside the spaceship. Or I’d just die when my ship explodes. Or I could be trapped until I die. Bottomline – I’d die. I have nothing but the worst case scenarios in mind when I think of travelling to space. And that my friends, is why I wouldn’t be watching Gravity any time soon. Or ever.

10. If you could make a documentary about one topic, what would it be?
I don’t have a concrete idea just yet but I want to do a documentary about something that has never been tackled before. I want to give voice to the ignored and make the seemingly unimportant be of interest. Hmm. That definitely requires more pondering.

11. Do you plan on making contributions to change the world? How?
I used to have dreams of doing something that could change the world – that my name would be written and known in history forever. I mean, at one idealistic point in our lives, who didn’t right? Now, I would just be contented with the knowledge that I could still make a difference in the lives of the people I touch, no matter how small. I don’t know how that will happen yet. I think my career certainly gives me opportunity to do so. But I hope to live for others and to fulfill whatever God intends for me to do.

Well that was definitely something. Haha. Now I am honored to nominate some of my favorite blogs. I chose these blogs because I think each one has something unique to offer to the reader. Here they are:

Now I am required to ask these bloggers a few questions of my own and some I borrowed from Lydia.

  1. Why do you blog?
  2. Which one from the Beatles are you? Why do you think so?
  3. If you could have one song to be the soundtrack of your life, what would it be?
  4. What/who is the reason why you still get up in the morning?
  5. If you had a spirit animal, what would it be? Why?
  6. Do you plan on making contributions to change the world? How?
  7. What do you love most about yourself?

And that’s it! I am sorry that it took me more than a week to respond to this but I wanted to be in the zone when I do it.

13 thoughts on “My First Award

  1. Ahemmm. I think I’m starting to become your avid fan! Haha
    Directed from your Ig posts. Congratulations! 👍👏

Hearing from you will surely brighten up my day!

