Playlist poetry

I am Miss Good Girl
Of the sanguine smile
Beautiful, bulletproof
I see without guile.

I am Miss
Alone, Never Lonely
Happy together with myself
Happy to be me.

So what
With your vitriol
Your negativity and lies
I shake it out like a woman
I do not despise.

I am Miss Good Girl
Of the sanguine smile.
See me fall.
See me rise.

I am a bit of in a dark place right now. I’m sorry for that. But tonight I turned to poetry instead of dwelling too much on it.

Anyhow, today’s NaPoWriMo prompt was to make a poem using five random song titles from one’s music playlist.

I was hesitant to follow this prompt because my overall playlist includes classical and instrumental songs. And well yeah, I think you could imagine the kind of pickle I would’ve been in if titles like “Canon in D“, or “Dome epais“, or “Lascia ch’io pianga”, or “The Ashokan Farewell” appeared. (You: But Christine! Now you’re just showing off!)

But when I finally had the list, I was a bit disappointed that none of the cool titles from above actually showed up. Instead this happened:

Good Girl – Carrie Underwood
Happy Together – The Turtles
Bulletproof – La Roux
Shake It Out – Florence + The Machine
So What – Pink

I thought I was too tired and sleepy for any blogging tonight but I made a commitment to NaPoWriMo. I intend to see it through. Plus, I needed an outlet for what I was feeling so I’m quite glad that this poem turned out to be a bit empowering.

Hmm. I think I’m feeling better now. Wow. Once again, I owe you blog. I might dedicate that ode to you after all.

4 thoughts on “Playlist poetry

    1. Yes, I owe this blog a bit of my sanity. Thank you so much! I wasn’t so sure wbout this because I was tired and sleepy, not to mention bummed out while writing it. I’m happy how it turned out though.

Hearing from you will surely brighten up my day!

