Review: Wet n’ Wild Megaslicks Balm Stain (Rico Mauve)

I’m on a roll today. I just posted my review about Tony Moly’s Cats Wink Clear Pact. Now, I’ll be featuring another of my beauty staples, the Megaslicks Balm Stain in Rico Mauve.

IMG_0086

About the Brand: For starters, Wet n’ Wild is one of the most recognizable and popular drugstore brands out there. Even as a child, I remember this brand being mentioned by my aunts and mother. It has definitely stood the test of time by reinventing itself and adapting with the changing times. This balm stain is one example of that.

Description: 

Claim to Fame: A highly-moisturizing lip stain crayon

Fast Facts: Smooth, balm-like texture with buildable color; enriched with acai palm oil to condition lips; formulated with a protective shield for lips to prevent color feathering; imparts a minty, cooling sensation

Perfect for: Dry, chapped, and pale lips

rico mauve

Packaging: 

It has a pretty straightforward packaging. This crayon balm has built-in sharpener which automatically sharpens the crayon as you twist it up. You don’t need a separate sharpener. The plastic cap locks comfortably and the whole body seems sturdy enough. I am not afraid to bring it with me. The chubby form makes it easy for me to rummage for it inside my bag.

 

Swatch and Thoughts:

Balm stains were pretty popular last year and even until now. Wet n’ Wild made their own version of these chubby pencil sticks and they actually did it right, even better than other pricier brands.

IMG_0055

As you can see from the swatch, Rico Mauve is a pinkish mauve to a light wine color. On my lips, it is a pretty MLBB (My Lips But Better) shade. As a balm stain, I love how opaque it is!

This is my go-to lip product whenever I feel like going more natural or if I don’t want to wear lipstick. It’s a perfect everyday lip color or for the office. It’s buildable so a few swipes can make it from a daytime to nighttime look. I also use it to pair up with smokey eyes.

What I also love about this is it didn’t dry out my lips. They’re quite moisturizing and I like the minty cool sensation I get when I apply it.

It glides easily so application is a breeze. You don’t actually need a mirror to apply it because of the crayon-tip. After application, it sits comfortably on the lips because of the balm formula. It doesn’t feel like I have anything on.

As for the longevity, it does fade after eating and drinking but leaves a nice stain on the lips that lasts for hours! I couldn’t believe it myself. Plus the stained finish, looks almost natural. For lazy girls like me, this is a must have.

Pricewise, this is cheaper compared to other drugstore brands. However, you get a bang for your buck and more because of the quality.

 

In Summary:

Pros:

  • Sturdy packaging
  • Easy application
  • Comfortable to wear
  • Perfect MLBB color
  • Quite opaque for a tinted balm
  • Does not dry my lips out but provides moisture
  • Cool minty sensation on the lips
  • Buildable
  • Cheaper than other drugstore brands (Php 299 at BeautyMNL)
  • Leaves a natural-looking stain afterwards

Pros:

  • Only available online (Wet n’ Wild doesn’t have a physical store in the country)

 

Bottomline:

This has got to be my favorite crayon-type balm stains of all time. I am so impressed with this product. You get quality for an affordable price. I’d definitely be hoarding more shades in the future. It has earned a permanent fixture in my beauty staples.

 

Hearing from you will surely brighten up my day!

